Petra Macatimpag Berongoy (1925-2008)


“Grandma always made you feel she had been waiting to see just you all day and now the day was complete.” Marcy DeMaree

Petra Macatimpag Berongoy was born on December 10, 1925 and died last October 8, 2008. That’s 82 years of wonderful life here on Earth. ‘Lola Petra’, that’s what her grandchildren call her. She’s the only grandmother that I grew up with. She’s the best.

These are the things that I remember about her:

  • She took care of me and my sister when we were young then
  • ‘Petrang Kabayo’ was the first and last movie that I remember watching with her in the cinema
  • She likes to sing ‘Maria went to town’
  • She likes to eat Skyflakes cracker
  • 80th Birthday Celebration
  • The smile and the eyes
  • The touch of her skin

Where on the Earth am I, if she was not my lola?

On the day she died, I managed to ask her four grandchildren on what are their messages for their Lola Petra. These are their replies:

“I love you.” Ma. Lyneth Berongoy
“Sana mapayapa ka kung san ka man pumunta. Thank you sa pag-aalaga. Thank you sa pagiging lola.” Joseph Berongoy
“Lola, I love you. Patawarin mo ako.” Joyce Berongoy
“I love you.” Joan Berongoy

Today, marks the 5th monthsary of her death. She is truly missed and loved. A five-minute tribute is publicly broadcasted in YouTube.

Petra Macatimpag Berongoy (1925-2008)

Petra Macatimpag Berongoy (1925-2008)

“Nothing can happen more beautiful than death.” Walt Whitman

Leave a Reply

