Go Manny, it’s my birthday


I was awaken this morning by Shine’s licking on my face. That’s when I realized that it’s a Sunday and it’s my birthday. I have to wake up and face the day. By the way, Shine is the newest puppy in the block. She’s an advanced birthday gift which was given to me one week ago by one of my Tiya.

Actually, I have not felt anything new today aside from the fact that I’m getting older now. Sad to say but I’m happy anyways.

As part of my routine every weekend, I went up in our rooftop to take photos of interesting subjects. Some photos are uploaded and can be seen in Flickr. After capturing decent photos, I went downstairs and tried to walk my dog outside our home.

I also went online early this morning just to check the sports news, e-mails, blogs, and other online accounts.

  • Sports news: The much awaited bout between Manny Pacquiao and Ricky Hatton; The Game 7 of the epic series between Boston Celtics and Chicago Bulls
  • E-mail: Yahoo! Mail
  • Blogs: joelbuensalida.wordpress.com which is still making hits
  • Other online accounts: Friendster, Tribal Wars, Flickr, My Brute

After navigating the web for almost an hour, I watched the Game 7 between Celtics and Bulls. It was a good game; it was a good series. Bulls challenged the Celtics; Celtics didn’t gave up in the challenge. The result: “…Boston pulled away from Chicago just before the half to finish the Bulls off 109-99 — a rare regulation victory in what might have been be the best first-round playoff series in league history.” These are the excerpts from Jimmy Golen’s column in Yahoo! Sports.

If you will visit my blog last May 3, 2008, I have blogged that Houston Rockets was not able to advanced in the first round of the 2008 NBA Playoffs. This year, I’m happy to say that they already advanced in the first round by beating the 4th-seeded but younger Portland Trail Blazers 92-76 in Game 6 last May 1, 2009. The Rockets have reached the second round for the first time since 1997 and now they will be facing the 1st-seeded in the West — the Los Angeles Lakers.

Enough of basketball. Let’s proceed on the main bout: Manny Pacquiao versus Ricky Hatton; The Battle of East and West. This fight which was held at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas was a no-contest. Pacquiao clearly proved that he is the best pound-for-pound boxer in the world after his dominating second-round knockout of Hatton. Enough of how many seconds the fight lasted or how many belts, wins, losses, draws, knockouts were recorded before the fight. This is the Manny Pacquiao-era whether you like it or not. I’m lucky to have seen this generation of Manny Pacquiao and I’m happy to have seen the fight on my birthday. “Go Manny, it’s my birthday. I’m gonna party like it’s my birthday.”

I really appreciate those old and new friends who dropped me birthday messages. I would also like to extend my thank you’s to my family.  And last but not the least, to our saviour, Jesus Christ, for the wonderful life He’d given me through the years.

Leave a Reply

